Turkey Given “Associate EU Member” Status | WILL be EU Members at Some Point

The EU has already granted effective EU associate member status to Turkey, Israel, Palestine, Syria, Morocco, Algeria and other troubled non-European nations.

The debate raging around when Turkey — only 5% of which is in Europe — will accept David Cameron’s open invitation to join the EU seems silly.

The shoehorning of non-European nations into the EU fold has been occurring for decades, largely unbeknownst to the vast majority of EU “citizens”.

Indeed, the European Council most recently announced that the EU will be entering into an “economic partnership agreement with Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda”.

This isn’t a trade agreement.

It’s the interim stage before the full integration of political, social and economic structures of the EU and the African Union.


The economic partnership agreements are intended to enhance regional integration and economic development in the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. They are based on the principle of asymmetrical market opening, meaning that they provide a better access to the EU market for ACP partners.


The EU has — without any EU member nation’s permission — awarded these non-European nations effective associate EU member status. This includes giving them “accession” money and other “support” to shape their political, social and economic institutions to nicely integrate with the EU’s.

The EU has been working on many other such associate member-type relationships over the past 40+ years, including with Israel, Palestine, Syria and Morocco, who are well along the track to becoming associate-type EU members.


Through its European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP), the EU works with its southern and eastern neighbours to achieve the closest possible political association and the greatest possible degree of economic integration. This goal builds on common interests and on values — democracy, the rule of law, respect for human rights, and social cohesion. The ENP is a key part of the European Union’s foreign policy.



EU cooperation with the Southern Neighbourhood takes place in the framework of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP), and includes ten partner countries: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria and Tunisia.


The EU’s open-door membership policy, implemented, no doubt to maintain its “empire” status, which, in turn, greases the wheels on eventual global governance, proves there is no “safe haven”, “status quo” option on Thursday’s Brexit ballot.

Rather, the EU is a nation-killing, regionalizing German-built tank, trundling inexorably toward the global governance that underpins the logic of its open-door membership policy.

The arrival of the EU’s global governance-laden Panzer will, for many Remainers and Leavers alike, be the moment they realize that, actually, the EU never had anything to do with Europe. That it was merely a cog in a globalizing machine operated by people we don’t know and who despise us.

Europe, in all its diversity and ingenuity is beautiful, vital, powerful and unique.

We are not the Middle East.

We are not Africa.

We are not Asia.

We are not the Americas.

We are not a nationless region.

And we are most definitely not the damned European Union.

Let’s fight to keep it that way.

By Les K

Support Brexit? Share This Article...Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter